My Users

From IT Audit Machine Documentation
Jump to: navigation, search

ITAM Administrators will access the Users Manager interface via the My Users button on the main menu.

My Users Button Link.png

My Users Main Interface

The Users Manager interface consists of a main table that displays all users with access to your instance of the IT Audit Machine. On the top left of the table, there are options to delete or suspend users. On the top right of the table, there are options to filter users. On the user listing table you can select the table description to sort the listed users based on the table descriptions.

MyUsersMainScreen.png

SectionSeparator.png

Adding Users

You add a new administrative user by clicking the CreateNewUserButton.png button on the top right corner. This will take you to the Users Manager > Add User interface. Adding a user is a simple 3-step process:

1. Define Profile
AddUserDefineProfile.png

  • Name - Enter the full name of the new user
  • Email Address - Enter the unique email address of the new user, this will be used as the users ITAM login username.
  • Password - Enter a unique password for the new user.

Adding Multiple Users To add multiple users in bulk, click the BulkAddUsersLink.pnglink.

This will change the Users Manager > Add User screen to the Users Manager > Bulk Add Users screen. The Define Profiles page now allows for the entry of multiple users. Each user profile should be entered separately on a single line in (Name, Email, Password) format separating each item with a comma. See the example in the image below.
BulkAddUsersPane.png

Note: To return to the Users Manager > Add User single user entry screen, click the SwitchToNormalModeLink.png button.

2. Set Privileges'
AddUserSetPrivileges.png

Note: Privileges are advanced user functions that allow Users to create new items or to administer the IT Audit Machine. There are three privileges that can be assigned to Users:

  • Allow user to create new forms – The user is able to create new forms and is automatically granted full permission for any forms the user creates. The user is able to edit/delete the form and edit/view form’s entries.
  • Allow user to create new themes – The user is able to create new themes and is able to edit/delete the theme the user creates. Themes are available to the creator only.
  • Allow user to administer IT Audit Machine – The user has full control over IT Audit Machine. The user is able to access all forms and entries, modify global settings and add or delete users.

If a user does not require the ability to create new forms or themes or to administer IT Audit Machine, leave the privileges options blank.

3. Set Permissions
AddUserSetPermissions.png

The ability to access any of the existing forms is individually configured for each form. There are three permissions that can be assigned to the users of each form:

  • Edit Form – The user is able to add/delete the form’s fields and delete the form itself.
  • Edit Entries – The user is able to edit/delete/view the form’s entries.
  • View Entries – The user is able to view the form’s entries.

The Edit Entries permission and the View Entries permission are related. When assigning an Edit Entries permission to a user, the user automatically has View Entries permission as well, and thus having full write access to the entries. However, if you assign only View Entries permission to the user, the user only has the ability to view the form’s entries (read-only access).

When you assign custom permissions, users see custom menus for each form.

Note: Be sure to submit the new user(s) by clicking the AddUserButton.png at the bottom of the page. You will then be return to the Users Manager screen showing the success notification.

AddUserSuccess.png

SectionSeparator.png

Editing a User

A user’s profile, privileges, and permissions may be modified at any time via the Users Manager.

Selecting a user from the user list in the Users Manager will display the current privileges and permissions for the user. To edit the user settings, click on the Edit link in the control pane at the right of the user information as seen below.


UsersManagerSelectedUser.png

  • Editing Profiles & Permissions - Any changes to a user’s profile or permissions are applied instantly.
  • Editing Privileges - Any changes to a user's privileges are applied the next time the user logs into IT Audit Machine.

SectionSeparator.png

2-Step Verification

User administrators will enable Multi-Factor Authentication for users via the user edit screen.

EditUserNote2Step.png

Multi-Factor Authentication is an optional but highly recommended security feature for administrators that adds an extra layer of protection to an IT Audit Machine account. Once enabled, IT Audit Machine will require a six-digit security code in addition to the standard password whenever a user sign-in.

To enable the Multi-Factor Authentication feature for the selected user check the selection box next to the feature label in the Edit Profile pane .

Note that the user will now be required to install and enable an authenticator application which will provide them a randomly generated security code to be used when logging into ITAM. The instructions for selecting and setting up the authenticator are located in the My Account wiki.

Multi-Factor Authentication is mandatory for Portal Users.

SectionSeparator.png

Delete/Suspend a User

  • Deleting a User - Deleting a user account prevents access by the user to the IT Audit Machine panel. All of the affected user privileges, permissions, and profile are deleted from the IT Audit Machine.
  • Suspending a User - Suspending a user account results in the user account being blocked from IT Audit Machine panel. While the user account may still exist with the user's privileges and permissions data remaining in the system, the user is blocked from authenticating for log in access. Unblocking the user will restore the user's access to IT Audit Machine.

Note: Suspending a user does not delete any of the forms, themes or data entry associated with that user. The forms and themes created by the user will still be available to administrator and all other users who have permission to access them.

SectionSeparator.png

Automated Suspensions

These features are accessed within the Administrative Portal under the listed users within the Portal Users table. Simply select a specific user will advance you to the administrative account management function.

PortalUsers.png

  • Automatically suspend account after date: - An administrator may set an automatic expiration on a User Portal account. Doing so will prevent the user from accessing the IT Audit Machine from the same account. This feature is very useful when you provision temporary access or have seasonal users that you want to temporarily suspend.


  • Automatically suspend account for inactivity after: - An administrator may set an automatic suspension on a User Portal account if the user has not logged into the IT Audit Machine after a specified number of days. Doing so will prevent the user from accessing the IT Audit Machine from the same account if they are not actively using the account. This feature is very useful when you want to temporarily suspend Portal Users who are not actively working in the IT Audit Machine. Corporate IT access control policies generally will specify the parameter to enter.


  • Automatically delete account for inactivity after: - An administrator may set an automatic deletion on a User Portal account if the user's account has already been suspended. The administrator will set the automatic account deletion for a defined number of days after the account has been automatically suspended. This feature is very useful when you want to permanently delete Portal Users who are suspended in the IT Audit Machine. Corporate IT access control policies generally will specify the parameter to enter.

UserSuspensions.png

Note: Suspending a user does not delete any of the forms, themes or data entry associated with that user. The forms and themes created by the user will still be available to administrator and all other users who have permission to access them.